Baking

Healthy Wholewheat Banana Muffins

I was looking for ideas for healthy snacks a few months ago and came across this recipe. As usual, I made a few of my own tweaks as I went, and didn’t record them. This afternoon when I was trying to find the recipe from before I couldn’t remember any of the changes I had made, so this time I made sure to record my tweaks 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups wholewheat flour
  • 1 cup muesli (toasted works best)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp bicarb
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar or sugar substitute. I keep vanilla pods in my sugar, to infused vanilla flavour into it, and then don’t use the vanilla essence)
  • 100 ml chopped walnuts
  • 2 tblsp raisins
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 100 ml canola oil
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt
  • 2 tsp vanilla (if  you don’t have vanilla sugar)
  • 2 eggs

Heat oven to 180 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper cups.

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Mash bananas and add rest of wet ingredients. Add wet to dry and stir until just mixed (don’t beat or over mix). Spoon into the muffin cups and bake for around 20 minutes – check after 15. These freeze well too.

Leave a Reply

